Sign In

2008 Quintessa

ITEM 7914384 - Removed from a professional wine storage facility; Purchased at auction

Bidder Amount Total
tomol $100 $100
Item Sold Amount Date
I8161879 4 $135 Apr 3, 2022
I8161879 9 $125 Apr 3, 2022
I8145538 1 $125 Mar 20, 2022
I8137758 4 $125 Mar 13, 2022
I8131093 4 $125 Mar 6, 2022
I8121256 2 $125 Feb 27, 2022
I8007384 1 $135 Nov 28, 2021
Front Item Photo



Quintessa is a 280-acre estate in Rutherford, in Napa Valley. It was founded in 1990 by Valeria and Agustin Huneeus, who had both had extensive experience in wine production and vineyard management. Agustin was chief executive officer of the Chilean producer Concha y Toro in the 1960s. He later held top positions at Seagram’s and Franciscan Estates. Valeria, a microbiologist by training, worked early in her career as a viticulturalist in South America. Quintessa makes just one wine, its flagship blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Petit Verdot, Cabernet Franc and Carmenere, depending on the vintage.


United States, California, Napa Valley, Rutherford

Rutherford AVA is just north of the Oakville AVA in the heart of Napa Valley, and it is equally distinguished. It is home to Beaulieu Vineyard and inglenook, arguably Napa Valley’s most historically influential wineries. Inglenook started making in wine in the late 19th century, and Beaulieu Vineyards was producing by the first years of the 20th century. BV founder Georges de Latour is particularly esteemed for having recruited Andre Tchelistcheff, a renowned research oenologist, to move from France to Napa Valley in 1938 and run BV’s winemaking. The legendary Tchelistcheff brought European winemaking techniques to Napa Valley and vastly improved wine quality. Other Rutherford winemakers followed his lead. Today there are 5,000 vineyard acres in Rutherford and many acclaimed producers. The famous Silverado Trail with its exclusive, limited production wineries, runs partly through Rutherford AVA. Rutherford Cabernet Sauvignons are characterized by supple tannins, richness, notes of cherry and plum, depth and the ability to age for several decades. Besides Cabernet Sauvignon the AVA also grows Chardonnay, Merlot, Sauvignon Blanc and Zinfandel. It received its AVA designation in 1994.